miniheader curriculum


Home Curriculum and Pedagogy Learning and Teaching

Learning and Teaching

square culturalSt Anthony's Catholic Parish Primary School is registered by the NSW Board of Studies (BOS) and is subject to the curriculum requirements of the Board.  The new Australian Curriculum is currently being implemented in 2014.

Requirements include an educational program based on, and taught in accordance with, the outcomes of Board of Studies, Teaching and Educational Standards (BOSTES) syllabuses in the six Key Learning Areas (KLAs) of English, Mathematics, Science & Technology, Human Society and its Environment (Geography and History), Creative Arts and Personal Development, Health and Physical Education. In addition, a course in Religious Education is taught in both theory and practice.

The Primary Curriculum is organised into Stages: 

Early Stage 1 Kindergarten
Stage 1 Year 1 and Year 2
Stage 2 Year 3 and Year 4
Stage 3 Year 5 and Year 6

Most students will be working towards the outcomes for their Stage. Some students will be working towards outcomes that are above or below their Stage. The focus is on developing life long learners, who are independent and have the ability to work individually and as part of a group